VSU football coach wins top award from Richmond Touchdown Club

1/15/2014, 4:13 p.m.
Latrell Scott (center)

Virginia State University Football Coach Latrell Scott, who led the Trojans to a 9-1 season and the CIAA Northern Division championship, is the recipient of the 2013 Richmond Touchdown Club’s Willard Bailey Coach of the Year Award as the state’s top DII, DIII or NAIA coach.

Scott is one of the two coaches selected to receive the Willard Bailey Coach of the Year Award. He will be honored at the All-Metro banquet on Jan. 23, 7 p.m., at the Hilton in Short Pump.

Bailey, for whom the award is named, is the all-time winningest coach in Virginia history with 237 wins. He has had multiple coaching stints during his 40 year storied career. He started his coaching career at Virginia Union University, where he was for 13 years. He has also coached at Norfolk State University, Saint Paul’s college and is currently at Virginia University of Lynchburg.