CIAA board elects new executive committee officers

6/14/2013, 1:42 p.m.

The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association’s (CIAA) board of directors has elected new officers to serve on its executive committee. Elected from within the board of directors, the new officers will serve a two-year term, effective immediately and ending at the conclusion of its annual spring meeting in 2015.

The new executive committee officers are:

  • Chair: Dr. Claude G. Perkins, president – Virginia Union University

  • Vice-Chair: Dr. Keith T. Miller, president – Virginia State University

  • Secretary: Dr. M. Christopher White, president – Chowan University

“We are very fortunate to have a tremendous breadth of talent and leadership among our board members,” said Jacqie Carpenter, CIAA commissioner. “But perhaps more importantly, we have fantastic individuals who share our commitment to developing supportive and challenging academic environments and who understand the value of athletics and the welfare of the student-athlete.”

Perkins, VUU president, will serve as chair of the executive committee. Miller, VSU president, will serve as the committee’s vice-chair. White, Chowan University President, in Murfreesboro, N.C., will serve as secretary.

The executive committee leads the CIAA board of directors, which governs the CIAA and is comprised of the 12 presidents and chancellors of its member institutions.